L1108034



Flood Mitigation Assistance

The Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) Program was created as part of the National Flood Insurance Reform Act (NFIRA) of 1994 (42 U.S.C. 4101) with the goal of reducing or eliminating claims under the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). FMA regulations can be found in 44 CFR Part 78. Funding for the program is provided through the National Flood Insurance Fund. FMA has been funded annually at \$20 million for the entire nation.

FMA provides funding to assist communities in implementing measures to reduce or eliminate the long-term risk of flood damage to structures insurable under the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).

- Focus: protection or removal insured structures from the floodplain.
- **Target:** States, communities, certain private nonprofit organizations and Native American tribes participating in the National Flood Insurance Program.
- **Projects:** elevation, acquisition, and relocation of NFIP-insured structures.
- **Funding** allocated annually to the State for both planning and project grants. Caps exist on amounts that can be received by applicants and the number of grants an applicant can receive in a five-year period.
- Cost-share: 75 Federal /25 Local

NFIP-participating communities with approved Flood Mitigation Plans can apply for FMA Project Grants to implement measures to reduce flood losses.

The New Jersey State All Hazard Mitigation Plan has identified mitigation of repetitive flood loss as a high action strategy. These targeted properties include structures with four or more losses, and structures with 2 or more losses where cumulative payments have exceeded the property value.

Eligible Municipalities with approved FMA Plans include:

- 1. Atlantic City, Atlantic County
- 2. Avalon Boro, Cape May County
- 3. Barnegat Twp., Ocean County
- 4. Beach Haven Boro, Ocean County
- 5. Berkeley Twp, Ocean County
- 6. Bernards Twp, Somerset County
- 7. Bloomingdale Twp., Passaic County
- 8. Branchburg Twp., Somerset County
- 9. Brigantine City, Atlantic County
- 10. Carneys Point Twp., Salem County
- 11. Egg Harbor Twp., Atlantic County
- 12. Ewing Twp., Mercer County
- 13. Franklin Twp., Somerset County
- 14. Greenwich Twp., Gloucester County
- 15. Harmony Twp. Warren County
- 16. Harvey Cedars Boro, Ocean County
- 17. Highlands Borough, Monmouth County
- 18. Long Beach Twp., Ocean County
- 19. Millstone Boro, Somerset County
- 20. Montgomery Twp., Somerset County
- 21. New Milford Borough, Bergen County
- 22. Northfield City, Atlantic County
- 23. Ocean City, Cape May County
- 24. Ocean Twp., Monmouth Road
- 25. Pleasantville City, Atlantic County
- 26. Princeton Township, Mercer County
- 27. Rahway City, Union County
- 28. Secaucus Township, Hudson County
- 29. Ship Bottom Boro, Ocean County
- 30. Stafford Twp., Ocean County
- 31. Wayne Township, Passaic County
- 32. Weymouth Twp., Atlantic County

For more information Contact: New Jersey Office of Emergency Management, Division of State Police P. O. Box 7068, West Trenton, NJ 08628-0068

SFC Robert Little, State Hazard Mitigation Officer

Telephone: (609) 963-6963

Fax: (609) 530-3649

Email: LPP4895@gw.njsp.org